Foundation Stage


An insight into how Lowfield Primary School begins about pupil's journey into education.

How my child will be learning

The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development.

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.

Children should develop the 3 prime areas first.  

These are:

  •  Communication and language;

  • Physical development.

  • Personal, social and emotional development.

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas

These are:

  • Literacy.

  • Mathematics.

  • Understanding the world.

  • Expressive arts and design.

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. At Lowfield the staff supporting your child will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs. 

Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.


Learning and developing through exploring their environment

How Parents Can Help

Small every day activities with your child can have a huge impact on their development. 

Here are some things you could try at home:

  •  Sing and tell nursery rhymes

  • Talk about numbers, colours and words you see when you are out and about.

  • Allow your child to cut and stick pictures from magazines. 

  • Cook/bake together.

  • Plant bulbs or seeds in a pot or garden. 

  • Explore the park and nature at different times of year. 

  • Read and enjoy books with your child.

Looking for information that you can't find? Contact our office on 0114 2552501 or and we will be happy to help you.